Trouble in Hong Kong…

an outsider's perspective of hong kong

remembering bruce lee as not a martial artist

with 4 comments

mother always said he died too young, too tragic.

grandpa was perpetually playing re-runs of his movies.

from the point of view of a child, he was a strange man. very strange indeed – he made a lot of funny noises when he was kicking and punching and he always looked at people in such a strange way. i couldn’t decide then he was skinny or if he was fit. i could see all those muscles but compared to the people he fought with, he looked so small in comparison.

it’s been forty years since he died but how come we can’t forget him?

bruce lee.

in the last recent few years i have been reading his books, watching his documentaries and his interviews.

though he may have only lived 32 years, i think he was one of those people who got it. i know some people who die at the ripe of 70 or 80 and they never got it.

i think bruce lee lived every day of his 32 years with a lot of depth and put in a lot of thoughts in his action and in the way he discovered the world. he may have been remembered fondly as a martial artist but to me bruce lee was an extraordinary human being.

i want be like bruce lee.

my favorite bruce lee quotes –

 empty your mind, be formless, shapeless – like water. now when you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup, you put water into a bottle it becomes a bottle, you put it in a teacup it becomes a teapot. now water can flow or it can crash. be water my friend.

if you always put limit on erverything you do, physical or anything else. it will spread into your work and your life. there are no limits.there are only plateaus and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.

I am learning to understand rather than immediately judge or to be judged. I cannot blindly follow the crowd and accept their approach. I will not allow myself to indulge in the usual manipulating game of role creation. Fortunately for me, my self-knowledge has transcended that and I have come to understand that life is best to be lived and not to be conceptualized. I am happy because I am growing daily and I am honestly not knowing where the limit lies. To be certain, every day there can be a revelation or a new discovery. I treasure the memory of the past misfortunes. It has added more to my bank of fortitude.”

Written by smalltroubleinhk

July 18, 2011 at 8:14 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for writing about my maternal great cousin.

    Anonymous

    July 18, 2011 at 12:03 pm

  2. Thank you for writing about my maternal great cousin.

    thenakedlistener

    July 18, 2011 at 12:04 pm


Leave a Reply

