Trouble in Hong Kong…

an outsider's perspective of hong kong

stay hungry stay foolish

with one comment

i recently read this in this month’s copy of wired magazine with steve jobs on the front cover. i hope you will like it as much as i have..

you cannot connect the dots looking forward, you can only connect them looking backwards. so you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. you have in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. because by believing the dots will connect down the road will give you the confidence to follow you heart, even when it leads you off the well-worn path and that will make all the difference.

job’s second story was about being fired from apple. “the best thing that could ever happened to me. the heaviness of being successful was replaced by the lightness of being a beginner again, less sure of about everything. it freed me to enter one of the most creative periods of my life ( during this time, jobs built up NeXT and pixar and met his wife.

job’s final story – was about death. he recounted the story of the diagnosis of his pancreatic cancer. ” remembering that i’ll be dead soon is the most important tool that i have ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. because almost everything – all the external expectations, all price, all fear of embarrassment or failure – these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving what is truly important.remembering that you are going to die is the best way i know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. you are already naked. there is no reason to not  follow your heart.

a couple of weeks ago, i have had some interesting conversations with random people revolving around the subject of death, of growing older and life in general.

i asked my husband one night during our daily late night walks – what is the most important thing in life for him and he said – having lived a meaningful life that belonged to me.

from a new friend whom i have been hanging a lot with these days – she is a lot older than me but her soul is so young and she is increasing becoming a positive force in my life. i asked her – “if you could change one thing in your life what would it be?”. she said – time squanders a lot of things from us. i wished i hadn’t wasted so much time on partying and worked on a general plan. i had so many talents and i wished i had worked harder at my job to give me a sense of achievement.

my boss said to me a couple of weeks ago – natalie, how many pairs of shoes do you have?

i said to him – i have so many shoes that my husband built me a cabinet to store my shoes. but i had put the brakes on my shopping habit.

when my grandma passed away three years ago, i cleaned her stuff. i realized she had so little stuff and i guess it was easier for people back then to be happy. they didn’t want too much. after she passed away, i don’t really like to buy anything ( people may not believe me but it’s the truth) i have come to realize that when you own too many things, it is a burden. you need to think about ways to store them and keep them nicely. knowing that one day when i die, when my loved ones clear away my belongings, they are probably not going to put the same value i had on my stuff and that made me realize i was investing in things that are frivolous

it more important for me to be there for them. to be present and to have them connect me to their memories. that’s meaningful to me.

and besides once you like to collect something say for example shoes, there is no end to it like all forms of addiction.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. after reading this post , i really rethink my way of consuming .. although still i like to buy different stuff ! a number of years ago , i hated shopping . I dun know why i am being addicted

    Peter

    August 24, 2011 at 1:54 pm


Leave a Reply

