Trouble in Hong Kong…

an outsider's perspective of hong kong

love actually

with 7 comments

though i am not a fan of panettone - they are such pretty gifts!

how do you say no to these lindt reindeers?

no camera could capture the sparkle of the swarovski sponsored tree at chater square in central - it's something you should see for yourself

i love a good fluffy holiday movie. for the longest time, my every christmas must- watch was home alone. but in recent years, it has been love actually. i so love the opening line of the movie – the scene of the arrival gates at heathrow airport.

here is how it goes –

Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world,

I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow airport.

General opinion makes out that we live in a world of hatred and greed

I don't see that.

Seems to me that love is everywhere.

Often it's not particularly dignified or newsworthy but it's always there.

Fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives,

boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends.

When the planes hit the Twin Towers,

none of the phone calls from people on board were messages of hate or revenge,

hey were all messages of love.

lf you look for it, I've got a sneaky feeling you'll find that love actually is all around.' - love actually

 

can’t wait to do it again this christmas all wrapped up in a blanket with my darling and sophie warming my toes. i wish that you have someone special for you to spend this christmas with. it may be a lover or a friend – just that special someone to bring out the best in you!!!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Want to give an unusual gift that’s also a cracking good eat? Try “panforte morbido.” It’s a signature sweet of Siena, Italy, although the best ones (in my opinion) are from Florence. Panforte morbido is often (mis)translated as soft gingerbread – which it isn’t. It’s made from compressed oranges, lemons, mandarines and almonds. In Italy, we say panforte is love; chocolate is just lust.

    thenakedlistener

    December 13, 2010 at 3:39 pm

  2. Sounds very rich. Where do u buy it? I don’t know. I try not to buy the whole cake cos I dont want to risk overeating. How are you spending Christmas?

    smalltroubleinhk

    December 13, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    • I do a blog on panforte then, with pictures just for you. I’ll do this tonight or in the morning – again, just for you.

      Christmas? I stopped celebrating Christmas when I was 12. Long story. I’ll tell you one fine day if and when I get to see you in person. Promise. And we could compare our jewellery then.

      thenakedlistener

      December 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  3. awwwwww… thank you so much.. okie, you have to tell me that story!!

    smalltroubleinhk

    December 13, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    • You’re one of the few bloggers who show their faces and, looking the fantastic way you do, who wouldn’t want to do anything for you? (Ahem, no offence to your hubby…)

      thenakedlistener

      December 13, 2010 at 4:44 pm

  4. None taken……. Haha

    smalltroubleinhk

    December 14, 2010 at 2:37 am

  5. Panforte blogpost out! Read, enjoy, buy, eat!

    thenakedlistener

    December 17, 2010 at 3:25 am


Leave a Reply

