Trouble in Hong Kong…

an outsider's perspective of hong kong

cinema paradiso

with 2 comments

i feel absolutely compelled to write about my favorite movie and about the first time, i fell head over heels with a film – cinema paradiso

i don’t know if many of you have ever watched this movie and if you hadn’t, i’d seriously suggest you to do it ( along with a box of tissues) i watched this movie in 1999 during my first year of film studies. i cried so hard, so loud that my lecturer came to me the day after and asked me about my outburst.

when i discussed this context of this film with its many fans – i get so overwhelmed with the impact it had on different people and the richness of their interpretation towards the film.

a film critic said – i was like toto when i was young, i was obsessed with film and cinema.

many more told said – ” you will never forget your first love”.

for the older people they recounted on the personal impact of war – which destroyed a generation, fathers who died before their children were old enough to remember them.

for me, it was the friendship between alfredo and toto. that friendship that was like father and son, mentor and protege.
 

this is my favorite scene of the movie – when toto received alfredo’s gift to him after he passed on

my friend was just asking me the other day – how is possible that we could still remember the songs we used to listen to when we young? it has been so many years. i just think that the older we get, the more we forget how to love something with compulsion.

i thought after all these years, the impact of cinema paradiso would have eased on me and a few days ago, i re-listened to the soundtrack and again – i cried for hours. i was quite relieved after that – the movie reminded me that i wasn’t as jaded with life as i thought i would be. i need to watch the movie again soon – alone.

Written by smalltroubleinhk

November 21, 2010 at 6:49 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cinema Paradiso is also my favorite film! I watch it first time in 1996 also during film studies! Love it so much that I dig out all 3 version (different cut) of the movie.

    The montage of the censored kissing scene is so powerful that it climate the whole film.

    The film also fuel my passion for film making, and even till today the box of tissue is always handy when ever I re-watch it.

    pierceteo

    November 21, 2010 at 11:22 am


Leave a Reply

