Trouble in Hong Kong…

an outsider's perspective of hong kong

happy birthday my best friend!

with 4 comments

after my dad walked out of my mum’s life, i used to play this game a lot – i pretended that if i closed my eyes hard enough, long enough  everything would go back to the way it was. i was six that year. my youngest brother was two months old. i don’t remember a lot of things. i just remembered my dad stopped coming home at night.

when i was 16 or 17, i made the resolution to make myself as independent and as strong as possible and live life like as though i don’t need anyone but myself. for the longest time, it worked – till i met my husband.

till now, if you asked me honestly, i am not angry at my parents at all. they have instilled that fear in me that life is not necessarily made of roses and fresh air. as a matter of fact, i am grateful for the experience. they gave me a lot of reference to think about; about what i want in my relationships with men.

in 2005, i met my husband. when i met him, his first marriage had just ended. i remember asking myself – how come someone so nice is not appreciated. if only i had a husband like that.

it wasn’t too long before i told him that i liked him. trust me i am not someone who is discreet. i believe that if you want something you have to state your intention. i hate beating around the bush.

i recently told my friend jamie – i think i ran out of luck the day i married my husband – haha! i really think so but it’s okie though.

at the end of the day, i don’t think i married someone or anyone. i married my best friend.

today is my best friend’s birthday – happy birthday darling!!!!!!

Written by smalltroubleinhk

August 29, 2010 at 4:34 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy for you that you found THE one. Happy bday Rudi!!

    avelance

    August 29, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    • I have just chanced upon your blog…

      What an encouraging story!

      One small suggestion: you might want to reword this sentence, “i think i ran out of luck the day i married my husband” – I find it a bit ambiguous, I’m not sure if its a happy note or bad one.

      With all my wishes for lots of blessings to you both (& to your parents)!

      just someone passing by

      August 30, 2010 at 3:17 pm

  2. dear passer by,

    thank you for your comment and your suggestion. how is this?
    i used up my entire life’s worth of luck when i married my husband. i don’t really mind. because i know everything will be okie with him by my side. don’t need luck too much.
    thank you for your well wishes. my parents are great now. just not well suited for one another and this does not undermine them as individuals.
    i wish you well too.
    xoxo,
    small trouble.

    smalltroubleinhk

    August 31, 2010 at 4:09 am

  3. You are both very blessed to have found each other 🙂
    xxx

    Christina

    September 9, 2010 at 3:26 am


Leave a Reply

