Trouble in Hong Kong…

an outsider's perspective of hong kong

the curious case of benjamin button – one of the most beautiful films of all time

leave a comment »

watched benjamin button again two nights ago. it  is one of my favorite films of all time after cinema paradiso and forrest gump. it is such a beautiful film and the script was so beautifully crafted. the talent of the people who made this film really astound me beyond words. i bawled like mad all over again. two hours after the movie ended, i was still in tears. i cried and sobbed so hard, i think anyone walking outside my house would have heard me.

and oh my god, is there anything in the world that more beautiful than brad pitt?

best lines of the film lies in the beginning and when caroline found the birthday cards benjamin had left her towards the end.

i hope you have a chance to watch the curious case of benjamin button. it’s splendid.

my favorite lines from the movie

( in reference to the great war)

Mr. Gateau was, from birth, absolutely blind.

When their son was old enough,

he joined the army.

And they prayed God would keep him out of harm's way.

For months,

he did nothing but work on that clock.

One day,a letter came.

And Mr. Gateau, done for the night,

went up, alone, to bed.

And their son came home.

They buried him in the family plot,

where he would be with them

when their time came.

Mr. Cake worked on his clock,

laboring to finish.

It was a morning to remember.

Papa said

there were people everywhere. Even Teddy Roosevelt came.

It's running backwards!

I made it that way  so that perhaps the boys

that we lost in the war

might stand and come home again.

Home to farm,

work,have children.

To live long, full lives.  

Perhaps my own son might come home again.

I'm sorry if I've offended anybody.

I hope you enjoy my clock.

Mr. Cake was never seen again.

when caroline found out that benjamin was her father and saw all the cards he had left her
 

I left,

before you could ever remember me.

''I left with just the clothes on my back.''

It's for me. 1970. I was two.

''Happy Birthday.

''I wish

I could have kissed you good night.''

They're all for me.  

Five. ''I wish I could have taken you

to your first day of school.''

Six. ''I wish I could have been there

to teach you to play piano.''

1981 , 13.

''I wish I could have told you

not to chase some boy.

''I wish I could have held you

when you had a broken heart.

''I wish I could have been your father.

Nothing I ever did will replace that.''

''For what it's worth, it's never too late,

-''or, in my case, too early...''

-...or, in my case, too early,

to be whoever you want to be.

There's no time limit.

Start whenever you want.  

You can change or stay the same.

There are no rules to this thing.

We can make the best or the worst of it.

And I hope you make the best of it.

I hope you see things that startle you.

I hope you feel things

you never felt before.

I hope you meet people

with a different point of view.

I hope you live a life you're proud of.

And if you find that you're not,

I hope you have the strength

-to start all over again.

-''...start all over again.''
Written by smalltroubleinhk

August 20, 2010 at 8:16 am

Leave a Reply

