Trouble in Hong Kong…

an outsider's perspective of hong kong

i am sad

with 3 comments

for days now, i have been waking up in cold sweat thinking about the oil leak in the gulf of mexico. it bothers me so much that i find myself tearing up thinking about the state of the world that we live in. everyday now, bloomberg and reuters flashes regular updates about how bp shares are doing. doesn’t it show you how f**ked this world at present? we care more about the capital markets than the world that we live in today.

in his latest statement tony hayward the ceo of bp said he wants his life back. how about us ? how about the ecosystem? how about the animals and plants who could not speak? why is it that the death of one person news while the death of countless, part of a statistical headcount? if we could jail murderers, rapists? how about guys like tony hayward?

what are they not telling us about this oil leak? or the numerous disasters prior to this one? will it leak till the point the field dries out? why have we become so good at building things but not know how to fix anything?

i have been reading the black swan by nassim nicholas taleb. i really like these few lines

” i have spent my entire life studying randomness, practicing randomness, hating randomness. the more  that time passes, the worse things seem to me, the more scared i get, the more disgusted i am with mother nature. the more i think about my subject, the more i have evidence that the world we have in our minds is different from the one playing outside. every morning the world appears to me more random than it did the day before and humans seem to be more fooled by it than they were the precious day. it is becoming unbearable. i find writing these lines painful, i find the world revolting”.

i feel you nassim.

Written by smalltroubleinhk

June 3, 2010 at 3:54 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there

    The oil leakage has also disturbed me !!!
    What we sow, what we get…, just like the saying in Buddhism, we and our kids will suffer one day…
    Imagine, the detergent and washing powder we pour into drainage pipes everyday. They all go to oceans.
    You may like to visit my blog where I post some of my views re our planet.
    By the way, I read Jim Rogers’ book recommended by you. It was really inspiring.

    Cheers
    Joanna

    Joanna

    June 8, 2010 at 6:49 am

  2. Dear Joanna,

    Thank you so much for your comment. I went to your blog. Thank you for sharing your views with me. Would you like to meet up ?

    smalltroubleinhk

    June 10, 2010 at 4:04 am

    • Hi there (sorry, your English name is…?)

      I am thinking of disposing three boxes of my very very old photos. However, I just don’t know what to do with them. You know, the surface of photos is kind of “plastic”.
      To burn them off, it is not possible in my small flat…I will choke to death by heavy smoke or firefighters come to save me (and they mumble “what a stupid lady”…) 😛
      I wish there was a website which teaches people how to dispose all kinds of things in the city of Hong Kong.
      How to dispose an old yoga mat, how to dispose photos, how to dispose an old thermometer… In my imagination, the website is like YOUTUBE which allows people around the world to brainstorm ideas on how to dispose (all kinds of items) in a more “eco-friendly” ways… or how to recycle them… or to whom to give way as gifts…

      Joanna

      June 15, 2010 at 7:28 am


Leave a Reply

