Trouble in Hong Kong…

an outsider's perspective of hong kong

a man named kai bong

with 2 comments

i asked my husband – baby can we be like chau kai bong and brenda chau?

he said -loh poh ( wife) we are not as rich as mr and mrs chau. we can’t have a gold and pink rolls royce.

i said – a pink toyota will do.

chau kai bong aka bong bong ( oh i love saying that name, it has so much star power) has been living a life of fabulousity way before kimora lee simmons was born. he was the man with a beautiful wife brenda, he had a gold toilet and best of all he had a pair of pink and gold rolls royce.

whenever i flip the pages of tatler  they were always there in the most outlandish his and hers costumes ( i can’t consider what they wear ordinary daywear because they are just too theatrical) two months ago mr. chau kai bong passed away from cancer and out of curiosity, i googled to find out more about this bigger than life personality  – chau kai bong

in this month’s prestige magazine, his only son brandon had written an eulogy about his father. it was so well crafted, so honest and beautiful. it really touched my heart.

in the last few years, i have too on my personal accord been reevaluating the relationship that i have with my parents especially with my mother. until a few years back, my mother and i used to fight like crazy. whenever i think of all the terrible things i have said to her, it really makes me cringe.

i used to tell my friends  “i know my mother loves me just not in the way i want to be loved”.

i would like very much to aplogise to her because i was stupid to think that. when someone loves you, they just love you the way they know how to love you. and that’s enough.

the only person who can love you the way you want to be loved is really yourself.

my mother knows that i have left my job and that i have moved on to a new challenge – i know she has been praying for me. she doesn’t tell me but i know. when i was home she made us glutinuous rice balls that the chinese eat for fortune. she insisted that i eat 8 balls ( another symbol for  fortune) it’s not an easy feat because those rice balls are damn filling!!

i have come to this point whereby i don’t want to think who is right or who is wrong. i am just grateful that i still have a bit of time to make amendments.

my mother and i

Written by smalltroubleinhk

April 16, 2010 at 5:31 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. love this post – I used to drive past their mansion en route to grave sweeping every year, you can always see the pink Rolls Royce behind their flamboyant black and gold-gilded gates 🙂

    coffeemeow

    May 3, 2010 at 9:32 am


Leave a Reply

